Cheap Disks = More Music!

June 4th, 2008

Now that you can get ridonkulous amounts of disk space for a couple of cereal box tops and a self-addressed/stamped envelope, Live365 has passed on these savings to us broadcasters…

What does this mean to you?

Hours and hours of additional great music on FusionGroovin!

Specifically, nearly fifteen hours (for starters, more to come) of great tunes, including many of your favorites from the past from bands like Tribal Tech, Taboo Voodoo, The Jazz Pistols, Matalex and more.

And here’s to Greg Howe, playing Stevie Wonder’s “I Wish” as I type this… one of the funkiest and tastiest remakes I’ve ever heard. As soon as his new album is out, it will be all over FusionGroovin.

A most excellent video

April 10th, 2008

Find 9 minutes to check out this smokin’ video of Cosmosquad’s “Epapo Funk”, one of FusionGroovin’s favorites on the playlists. Recorded live at Baked Potato on 02/12/2004, with Jeff Kollman on guitar, Shane Gaalaas on drums and Paul Shannon on bass.

Support jazz-rock fusion’s artists — Please don’t steal their music!

February 25th, 2008

I just came across a fantastically well-written piece by the highly entertaining Gary Willis, making the case against file sharing, or as he calls it, “unpaid downloading”.

FusionGroovin will continue to, as it has from day one, purchase every tune played on the station, unless it was directly submitted by the artist. We listeners of jazz-rock fusion must support the artists whose work we so enjoy. What right do any of us have to imply or demand that their work be delivered to our ears for free?

Again, read (and in this case, share!) the post.

Five new discs

February 15th, 2008

Another mighty wave of new music is hitting those Cat-5 cables today. Eighteen tracks to be exact, nearly two hours of killer grooves, from

  • Alex Broshodsky: self titled
  • Ed DeGenaro: “Dog House”
  • Elfferich Four: “Eccentricity”
  • Family Groove Company: “Charmer”
  • Nordal Twang: “Nordal Twang”

Keep those votes coming in, as they really help me decide on song rotations. Special thanks to all the fans who’ve taken the time to write and make suggestions. It’s much appreciated!

A long overdue blast of great new music

December 3rd, 2007

Finally — the drought of new music on the station has ended, and with a bang. I’ve just added 37 new tracks to the station, from the following fantastic discs:

Butterhead – Live ’98
Cique – Cique
Oz Noy – Fuzzy
Patrick Charles – Cite Soleil
PRISM – Blue…
PRISM – Peace
TRIX – Force
Jim Weider – Percolator

This represents the biggest single turnover in FusionGroovin’s nearly 6-year history, and makes for some amazing listening. Check ‘em out!

Ripplegroove – Under the Microscope

August 15th, 2007

Ripplegroove: Under the Microscope

Many of my absolute favorite fusion recordings are from trios, and this disc immediately makes that list. Check out eight perfect-for-FusionGroovin tracks, from Tom Burda on guitar, Joe Hanley on Hammond organ, and Jed Devine on drums.

Charles David Stuart Trio – Live

August 15th, 2007

Charles David Stuart Trio Live

Another outstanding trio recording to add to the list (and this one being live to boot), with Charles David Stuart on drums and percussion, Duffy King on guitar, James Simonson on Bass and Mark Byerly on trumpet. Seven tracks, not to be missed.

Jeff Richman – “Freeway Jam — To Beck and Back”

July 17th, 2007

Jeff Richman Freeway Jam To Beck and Back

Check out six tracks off of Jeff’s latest tribute disc, this time to Jeff Beck. Jeff plays rhythm and solo guitar, and is joined by Vinnie Colaiuta and Simon Phillips on drums, Stu Hamm on Bass, Mitchel Forman on keyboards, and a different solo guitarist on each track, including (in addition to Jeff), Steve Morse, John Scofield, Eric Johnson, Adam Rogers, Mike Stern, Warren Haynes, Chris Duarte, Greg Howe and Walter Trout.

Richard Hallebeek Project – “Richard Hallebeek Project”

July 17th, 2007

Richard Hallebeek Project

Check out four tracks off of Richard Hallebeek’s self titled disc “Richard Hallebeek Project”. Featuring Richard Hallebeek on guitar, Lale Larson on keyboards, Udo Pannekeet on bass, Bas Cornelissen on drums, with special guests Shawn Lane and Brett Garsed on additional guitar.

Jeff Babko, Jeff Coffin & Vinnie Colaiuta – “Mondo Trio”

June 20th, 2007

Mondo Trio

Another trio, another great disc. OK, so there will be moments on this disc where you think I’ve slipped in some organ outtakes off of ELP’s “Tarkus” — Hammond lovers take note. The lineup is Jeff Babko on keys, Jeff Coffin on woodwinds and Vinnie on drums. One listen will reaffirm these guys as masters of their craft. Be sure to check out Jeff’s notes on the album, and enjoy four completely distinctive tracks out on the station.